アドウェアメーカー米WhenU のサイトがクローキングを行っているとして Google と Yahoo! から削除された問題について、様々なニュースメディアが報道しました。しかし、WhenUが「SEOアウトソーシング先の会社が勝手に行ったこと」とコメントしているのに、その実際にクローキングを行った会社の名前は明らかにされていません。
そこで、この問題を最初に報告したアンチスパイウェア活動家 Ben Edelman 氏が「誰がやったのか」の調査結果を明らかにしています。
I see strong evidence to support the inference that Synergy6 is the SEO that performed cloaking services on WhenU's behalf. Notice the "synergy6" text embedded within the redirect destination URL. This text represents an attempt to track how many users reached the destination Freeze site via the cloaking site at blackjack-on-the-web.com. An SEO's performance is often measured according to the volume of traffic it products. A SEO's destination URL therefore often includes its name, or other identifiers associated with the SEO, to allow the site to recognize the SEO's traffic. According to the destination URL found here, there is reason to think that "syngergy6f" (or similar) might be the name of the responsible SEO. (Which SEO Did WhenU Use? The Best Inference: Synergy6)
調査した結果、Synergy6 のようです。
クローキングで検索エンジン対策する会社は通常、クライアントに対して「クローキングでやりますね」なんて言いませんから注意が必要です。ある一定期間は上位に表示できても、Google に見つかって削除されたらその直後から一切のサーチトラフィックを失ってしまうのですから、ビジネスに大打撃です。
日本国内でもそういう事例(クローキング使っていたらある日突然消えた)を見たことがありますから、日本の企業の皆さんも注意して下さいね。「サイトには一切手を加えずに上位表示できます」という場合、(1)クローキング (2)外部ドメインサイトからの多重リンク のいずれかです。前者は WhenU の通り、後者はケース・バイ・ケースです。一概に良い、悪いはいえません。
Synergy6
http://www.synergy6.com/